Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
"Passing the Legacy to Future Generations"  

2016 Election

Election for 2017 and 2018 Board Terms 

Meet Your Candidates
Jean Martin, VA
  • Incumbent 2016 CCC Legacy Board. 
  • Serves as Vice President
  • Archivist/Genealogist, Shenandoah County Library, Edinburg, VA for nine years.
  • Served on Board of Camp Roosevelt Legacy Foundation. Life member of CCC legacy
  • Former director/curator of historical homes, museums, and gardens in several states
  • Extensive experience with restoration, fundraising, grant writing, educational programs, special events, media groups, newsletters, historical exhibits, and training of volunteers and tour guides
  • Financial experience with grants, organizational budgets, and gift shop management
  • Has conducted research, published articles, and presented many historical workshops and lectures
  • Included a chapter on the CCC in the Arcadia Publishers book she produced for the Shenandoah County Historical Society.  
Naomi Shaw
  • Currently serving on the 2016 CCC Legacy Board of Directors
  • Serves as Corporate Secretary
  • Current Chairman of the Annual Gathering Committee
  • Life member of CCC Legacy. 
  • Father, Richard Chrisinger, is a CCC boy
  • Co-hosted with her father the 2010 Legacy Gathering in Branson, and the CCC 80th Anniversary event at Roaring River State Park in Cassville, MO
  • Assisted in organizing a CCC worker statue at Roaring River State Park
  • Strongly believes the CCC Legacy enriches our lives by educating, informing, and preserving the accomplishments and history of the Civilian Conservation Corps

Daniel Newquist, SC
  •  Incumbent 2016 CCC Legacy Board
  •  Active CCC Legacy member and volunteer since 2008.
  •  Serves on Education and Annual Gathering  Committee.
  •  City planner, Georgetown, SC.
  •  Americorps NCCC Alumni. Served after receiving BS degree (Biological Sciences) at NC State University in 2003.
  •  AmeriCorps assignment at Douthat State Park, VA, sparked an interest in the CCC.  In the 2nd year of AmeriCorps assignment, organized a CCC History Club for AmeriCorps members.
  •  Unique perspective on CCC history based on AmeriCorps experience.
  •  Enjoys CCC reunions/events and is preparing for the 2017 gathering which will be held in South Carolina.
 Joan Sharpe, VA
  • Incumbent/President of 2016 CCC Legacy Board/Operations Manager of CCC Legacy and Founding President of the Camp Roosevelt CCC Legacy Foundation
  • Strong background in customer service, sales, office management, budget management, and bookkeeping
  • Experience with fund raising, event planning, publishing, grant writing, and public outreach
  • Understands the responsibilities of a 501(c)3 organization and the laws that affect that status
  • Working knowledge of the computer software that supports the daily operations of the Legacy office
  • Manages the CCC Legacy website.  Editor of the CCC Legacy Journal.
  • Involved with many civic organizations and The Corps Network, Corps Network Committee of Excellence, and the Corps Accreditation Committee.  Liaison with the USDA Forest Service Lee District Office .
  • Strong belief in education of conservation heritage and community building


Election Year Information

Current Election Cycle

Four to be elected for 2017-2018:

The current cycle elects four board members to two-year terms for the membership year of 2017-2018 and represent the slots of 1, 2, 3, and 4.  Presently these positions are filled by Jean Martin, Daniel Newquist,  Joan Sharpe, and Naomi Shaw .  

Cheryl Dellinger, Chair of the Nominating Committee, has notified the Board that there are four people  who have expressed their interest in serving on the Board for the four slots available.    There is space on the ballot for a write-in candidate

January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2018. 

Last year:  
Last year slots 5,6,and 7, were scheduled for election and those positions are filled by Philip Gouzie, Tim Montgomery and Suzanne Williams.   


Official election results will be announced at the annual meeting in Nevada.  

Election Schedule for the year of 2016

  • June 17 Deadline —Submit Letters of Intent to Serve to the Nominating Committee Chairman, Cheryl Dellinger. 
  • Publish ballot 
  • September 12—Deadline for postmarks of  written ballots
  • September  16—Deadline for online ballots
  • September—Announcement of election results
  • October—Update Board Rosters, incoming board orientation
  • December—Incoming board will elect officers for 2017.  

Log of Current Board Members and their terms:   

Slot 1:  Naomi Shaw  2015-2016

Slot 2:  Jean Martin 2015-2016
Slot 3:  Joan Sharpe 2015-2016
Slot 4:   Daniel Newquist 2015-2016
Slot 5:  Suzanne Williams   2016-2017
Slot 6:  Philip Gouzie 2016-2017
Slot 7:  Tim Montgomery  2016-2017


Official Online Ballot
2017 - 2018 Board of Directors Term

Candidates list alphabetically

Vote for (4) Candidates

Deadline for online voting is September 16, 12:00 midnight
(Please vote for four (4) candidates
  Jean Martin, VA
   Daniel Newquist, SC
   Joan Sharpe, VA
   Naomi Shaw, MO
Write in:
   Membership Verification  - 
   Membership number required for online voting. 
Membership Number: *
First Name: *
Last Name: *
Email: *
Security Code: *  

Website Builder